top of page
Florence Nightingale
Chelsea Clinton - She Persisted series
(chapter book/nonfiction)
SP Florence Nightingale IGFB 1.jpg

Florence Nightingale
"She Persisted" series


Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger, a chapter book series about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds–including Florence Nightingale!

In this chapter book biography by critically acclaimed author Shelli R. Johannes, readers learn about the amazing life of Florence Nightingale–and how she persisted. 


When Florence Nightingale decided as a teenager that she wanted to become a nurse, her parents tried to talk her out of it, claiming that it wasn’t a suitable profession for a woman. But she persisted in her career and went on to save countless lives of patients, especially soldiers. Known as “The Lady with the Lamp,” she is widely considered to be the founder of modern nursing.

Complete with an introduction from Chelsea Clinton, black-and-white illustrations throughout, and a list of ways that readers can follow in Florence Nightingale’s footsteps and make a difference! A perfect choice for kids who love learning and teachers who want to bring inspiring women into their curriculum.

And don’t miss out on the rest of the books in the She Persisted series, featuring so many more women who persisted, including Sally Ride, Rosalind Franklin, Temple Grandin, and more!

bottom of page